Chemical Safety Committee Meeting Gallery Room, W.T. Young Library September 30th, 2009

Present

Todd Porter, Chair Jimmy Calvert Robin Cooper Glena Jarboe Chris Matocha Oliver Oakley

Stephen Rankin Lee Poore, Ex-Officio Ron Taylor, Ex-Officio

Jan Eggum, Ex-Officio

Guest

Lorie Jayne Jay Young

Absent

Dong-Sheng Yang (Sabbatical) Oliver Oakley

Todd Porter called the meeting to order at 12:10pm.

- 1. Approval of Minutes Minutes from the May 14th, 2009 meeting were unanimously approved.
- 2. Introduction of Committee Members Members went around the room and introduced themselves. Topics for the upcoming year were also discussed. Information for working safely with nanomaterials was discussed. Lee Poore and Jan Eggum will present this topic at the next meeting. Other items discussed were chemical safety issues with the Reynolds Building.
- 3. Review of Guidelines for the Chemical Safety Committee Information for the Guidelines for the Chemical Safety Committee was distributed. The Committee unanimously approved the Guidelines.
- 4. Chemical Hygiene Plan Update -- The 2010 CHP will need to be updated. An issue about phones in the laboratory was discussed, and should the CHP state that a land line be in the laboratory for emergency purposes. Jan Eggum will research what other College and Universities are doing on this issue.
- 5. Adjourn The meeting was adjourned at 12:50 pm. The next meeting will be in December before finals.